AACD Website Blog AACD News 2018 Evy Award Wi...

2018 Evy Award Winners Announced

April 25, 2018 by AACD Executive Office

The AACD was thrilled to honor some of its most accomplished and dedicated professionals with Evy awards during the Celebration of Excellence on April 21, 2018 at the 34th Annual AACD Scientific Session in Chicago.
The AACD Celebration of Excellence Award statuette has been dubbed “The Evy,” in honor of the late Dr. Jeffrey Golub-Evans, who was the creative force behind the award’s design.
Evy recipients are first nominated for the award by their colleagues and then are selected by the Awards and Recognition Committee. Evy award winners represent the most exemplary and talented individuals within the AACD and the industry who are dedicated to advancing excellence in the art and science of cosmetic dentistry and to the highest standards of ethical patient care.
The 2018 Evy recipients* and their awards are as follows:

Scott Finlay, DDS, FAACD - 2018 Excellence in Cosmetic Dentistry Education Award

Dr. Finlay has served dentistry and the AACD in volunteer leadership roles and as an examiner in the Accreditation process. This dedicated professional is the Senior Editor and Author of “Contemporary Concepts in Smile Design: Diagnosis and Treatment Evaluation in Cosmetic Dentistry.”

Paul Landman, DDS, FAACD - 2018 Hall of Fame Award


Dr. Landman has served for more than thirty years on numerous boards and committees and as a mentor and has given freely of his time and expertise in the role of a GBAS Treating Dentist. As the third Academy president, he used his technical expertise and leadership abilities to help shape the organization. His commitment to high ethical standards and responsible treatment is the lynchpin to his success in his practice, as a mentor and a teacher and as a leader in the AACD.

John K. Sullivan, DDS, AAACD and Nancy Lashley Sullivan - 2018 Humanitarian Award

Since 2009, the Sullivans have served as GBAS treating partners in nine GBAS cases. They currently have three cases in process. John describes himself as the “force doing the dentistry” while Nancy is the “conduit” that finds the GBAS survivor and gives comfort, support and hope. Jointly they say that for their practice, AACD’s Give Back a Smile program is the lifeblood that keeps their philosophy of “paying it forward” a constant realization.

Hakjoo Savercool - 2018 Outstanding Innovation in Cosmetic Dentistry Award

A ceramist of high regard, Hakjoo Savercool's work exemplified all of the outstanding qualities any dentist would look for in a laboratory technician. Her work demonstrated the art of excellence in ceramic beauty. Some Accredited members attribute, in part, their Accreditation success to her flawless and beautiful work. The 2018 Outstanding Innovation in Cosmetic Dentistry Award was posthumously bestowed upon Hakjoo Savercool, and Savercool's children Lisa, Mark and Emily accepted the award on her behalf.

John Rowe, DDS, AAACD - 2018 Outstanding Service to the Academy Award


Dr. Rowe has served the Academy with an unparalleled sense of dedication and pride. He has a passion for the Academy’s credential and has worked relentlessly to protect and elevate its value. Serving as ABCD Chair and Accreditation Chairman, he has proven to be a valued and dedicated champion of the Academy.

Nicholas Marongiu, DDS, AAACD - 2018 Rising Star Award


Dr. Marongiu has worked tirelessly to establish cosmetic dentistry as a specialty. Hardworking, organized, and passionate, he has proven himself to be a true leader. The colleague that nominated Dr. Marongiu wrote “He is a pretty incredible individual and the Academy is fortunate and blessed to have him involved.”

Michael R. Sesemann, DDS, FAACD - 2018 Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry Award


Dr. Sesemann's winning article explores angles and embrasures and includes an analytical description of an aspect of smile design. Detailed and well referenced, the article "Understanding Appropriate Line Angles to Optimize Smile Design Restorations" is a must-read for restorative teams.

Ronald D. Jackson, DDS, FAACD - 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Ronald Jackson has contributed so much to the Academy through the knowledge and service from which we have all benefited, and from his vast expertise, teaching, and lectures. Of this year’s recipient it has been said that he has forgotten more than many have ever learned. Dr. Jackson was unable to attend the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to these dental professionals. To learn more about the Evy and to see previous winners, click here.

*Award recipients are pictured with AACD Awards and Recognition Committee Chair Marilyn Calvo, DDS, AAACD and outgoing AACD President Dwight Rickert, CDT, FAACD.

Featured Stories

The AACD will continue its residency program in 2020. Preceptors will be instructing a dental resident and providing exp... Read More
The MyAACD Network is a private online community that connects members with over 5,000 of their peers who they can call ... Read More
Written by AACD Sustaining Member, John C. Calamia, DMD As you know, modern-day esthetic dentistry is constantly changin... Read More
The American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD) announced the newest members to be elected to AACD volunteer leadershi... Read More

Facebook Feed


Twitter Feed

Connect with Us
American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry
402 W. Wilson Street
Madison, WI 53703
Unites States of America


Contact Us
© 2019 American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry

This website uses cookies. Cookies are little files placed on your device that help us keep members signed in, help members access their member benefits, help us understand how visitors use our website, and help us provide relevant marketing messages. Read more about our cookies policy here. By using our site, you consent to our use of cookies